Abdul Qadir Arif

Issuance of SRO 1440 (1)/2019

Issuance of SRO 1440 (1)/2019 Dated November 26, 2019, Please find enclosed, copy of the Gazette of Pakistan Statutory Regulatory Order No. 1440 (I)/2019 dated November 26, 2019 the Annex to this order contains the consolidated list of all individuals and entities listed by the Taliban (1988) Sanctions Committee of the UN Security Council as of 26 November 2019 who will be subject to sanction measures of asset freeze, travel ban and arms embargo as set out in Security Council resolution 2255 (2015) adopted under Chapter VII of the Charter of the United Nations.

Further, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs intends to issue S.R.Os containing the consolidated list of all individuals and entities subject to sanctions under the relevant UN Security Council resolutions, on a quarterly basis in addition to issuance of regular S.R.Os to reflect updates/changes made by the Committee.

The List can also be accessed at:

  1. https://www.interpol.int/en/How-we-work/Notices/View-UN-Notices-Individuals
  2. https://www.un.org/securitycouncil/content/un-sc-consolidated-list

These UN Security Council imposed sanctions are required to be disseminated and implemented by all member States, and all member States are obliged to:

  1. Freeze without delay the funds and other financial assets or economic resources, including funds derived from property owned or controlled directly or indirectly and to ensure that neither these nor any other funds, financial assets or economic resources are made available, directly or indirectly for such persons’ benefit;
  2. Prevent the entry into or the transit through their territories;
  3. Prevent the direct or indirect supply, sale, or transfer of arms and related material, including military and paramilitary equipment, technical advice, assistance or training related to military activities, with regard to the individuals, groups, undertakings and entities placed on the List.

You are requested to take note of the above.



Leave a Comment